Microsoft MVP, WOW

I was awarded the Microsoft Most Valuable Professional for SQL Server this month and I am a bit overwhelmed, to say the least. It is an honor and privilege to be added to the group of current MVPs. This is an award that is granted for giving time back to community. SQL Server is the product that I have been working with since 1996 when I started working for MCI. Ever since that time I have worked hard to better understand it and maybe even master it. Not sure if the day will ever come that I master it, but I will chase that goal each and every day.

I would like to recognize the people that made this possible. First and foremost, this award is about time being given, and since time is a finite resource, the time spent contributing to this community takes away from time spent in other areas of my life. I’d like to thank Amy Smith, my wife and best friend. She makes it possible for me to contribute to this community. She takes care of the kiddos and lets me travel without ever saying a word. Thanks Amy.

The second group would be Linchpin People, a great company with truly rock star people. I am very blessed to work with a company whose people provide the motivation to put in the extra time. Thanks.

The last group and no less important is the community itself. The people who I have met along the way and have become friends with are outstanding. Unlike me, they might be weird, (yep that is you Jason Horner) but are some of the nicest people in all of the technical communities. <evil grin>

This is a journey that I’ve just begun and hope to continue for quite some time.

By the way, I love my job…

Reeves Smith

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional for SQL Server

About Reeves Smith

Reeves Smith is a consultant and trainer. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Applied Mathematics from University of Colorado at Colorado Springs and a Microsoft Certified Master with over 17 years of experience working with SQL Server. Reeves is an independent BI consultant and teammate with Linchpin People. He is an active member of the Denver, CO, PASS chapter and delivers technical presentations at local and regional conferences and user groups. He has had the opportunity to work on various development and data warehouse projects within industries like banking, DoD, energy, entertainment, gaming, healthcare, manufacturing, oil and gas, travel, and telecommunication. You can follow him on Twitter at SQLReeves.
This entry was posted in Career. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

